Computing Reviews
Today's Issue Hot Topics Search Browse Recommended My Account Log In
Browse by topic Browse by titles Authors Reviewers Browse by issue Browse Help
Search
 
Parunak, H.
AxonAI, Inc.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
 
   Featured Reviewer
   Reader Recommended
   Reviewer Selected
   Highlighted
Follow this Reviewer
 
 
 

H. Van Dyke Parunak is Vice President for Technology Innovation at AxonAI, Inc. He has extensive experience in both academic and industrial environments with chaos and complex systems, artificial intelligence, distributed computing, and human interfaces. Since 1984, he led the Agent-based and Complex Systems Research group, housed since 1984 in a variety of companies, studying swarm intelligence, emergent behavior, and nonlinear dynamics. In 2013, AxonAI was formed to commercialize these results.

His major research accomplishments include fine-grained agent architectures for a variety of manufacturing and defense functions, emphasizing applications of nonlinear dynamics and chaos theory to analyzing and controlling agent communities. He and his colleagues develop applications that take advantage of the self-organizing potential of very simple agents when they interact through a shared environment, inspired by examples in biological and ecological systems. He is the author or co-author of more than 200 technical articles and reports, and the coinventor on 13 patents in the area of agent technology.

Parunak has worked as a project designer and associate investigator at Harvard University, as an Assistant Professor and Postdoctoral Scholar at the University of Michigan, and as a computer scientist with Comshare, Inc. His research was done at the Industrial Technology Institute, ERIM, Altarum, NewVectors, TechTeam Government Solutions, Jacobs Technology Group, and Soar Technology. He received an AB in Physics from Princeton University (1969), an MS in Computer and Communication Sciences from the University of Michigan (1982), and a PhD in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations from Harvard University (1978). He is a member of the American Association for Artificial Intelligence and the Association for Computing Machinery.

--

Updated March 1, 2016

 
 
Options:
Date Reviewed  
 
1
- 10 of 257 reviews

   
  Stochastic geometry: modern research frontiers
Coupier D.,  Springer International Publishing, New York, NY, 2019. 248 pp. Type: Book (978-3-030135-46-1)

In the era BC (“before computers”), the standard way to reason about geometric objects, dating back to Euclid, was a logical proof system based on axioms. This approach is symbolic, dealing with entities such as points and lines. It le...

Apr 13 2021  
   Quantum techniques in stochastic mechanics
Baez J., Biamonte J.,  WORLD SCIENTIFIC, Singapore, Singapore, 2018. 263 pp. Type: Book (978-9-813226-93-7)

In an increasingly specialized world, it is a rare pleasure when a book can build compelling and useful connections among widely different disciplines. This volume offers such a treat, merging physics (the mathematics of quantum field theory), com...

Feb 12 2021  
  Networks and religion: ties that bind, loose, build-up, and tear down
Everton S.,  Cambridge University Press, New York, NY, 2018. 412 pp. Type: Book (978-1-108404-07-5)

Social network analysis (SNA) is an increasingly important tool for social science. By focusing on the links among people and organizations, it addresses the “social” aspect of social science much better than statistics based on popula...

Sep 22 2020  
   Taming uncertainty
Hertwig R., Pleskac T., Pachur T., Center for Adaptive Rationality .,  The MIT Press, Cambridge, MA, 2019. 488 pp. Type: Book (978-0-262039-87-1), Reviews: (2 of 2)

Humans are not the rational optimizers posited by classical economics or the axiomatic game theory of von Neumann and Morgenstern. Since 2012, the Center for Adaptive Rationality at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development in Berlin has been...

Aug 13 2020  
   Introduction to distributed self-stabilizing algorithms
Altisen K., Devismes S., Dubois S., Petit F.,  Morgan&Claypool Publishers, San Rafael, CA, 2019. 166 pp. Type: Book (978-1-681735-36-8)

Distribution is one of the most pervasive features of modern computing architectures. From the multiple specialized processors that make up a personal computer, to the network of computers in a modern automobile, to the Internet itself, modern sys...

May 12 2020  
  Argumentation mining
Stede M., Schneider J.,  Morgan&Claypool Publishers, San Rafael, CA, 2018. 175 pp. Type: Book (978-1-681734-59-0)

The development of computing technology for natural language has followed a hierarchical structure familiar to linguists. Early work at Bell Laboratories focused on phonology, recognizing and generating the basic sounds. Then researchers began to ...

Mar 17 2020  
  Wandering towards a goal: how can mindless mathematical laws give rise to aims and intention?
Aguirre A., Foster B., Merali Z.,  Springer International Publishing, New York, NY, 2018. 254 pp. Type: Book (978-3-319757-25-4)

Since 2008, the Foundational Questions Institute has sponsored an annual essay competition. This volume offers the 17 best submissions to the contest that ran from December 2016 to March 2017....

Jan 24 2020  
   Practical modelling of dynamic decision making
Evertsz R., Thangarajah J., Ly T.,  Springer International Publishing, New York, NY, 2019. 116 pp. Type: Book (978-3-319951-94-2)

Computational models hold considerable promise for planning and prediction in applied domains such as military operations. But such models face a knowledge acquisition bottleneck when applying them to complex real-world problems. For example, agen...

Oct 21 2019  
   Stochastic computing: techniques and applications
Gross W., Gaudet V.,  Springer International Publishing, New York, NY, 2019. 215 pp. Type: Book (978-3-030037-29-1)

Stochastic computing is an approach to numerical computing that dates back to von Neumann’s work on probabilistic logics in 1952, and that requires far fewer transistors than conventional numerical processing. This economy led to extensive r...

Oct 4 2019  
  Modeling and simulation with Compose and Activate
Campbell S., Nikoukhah R.,  Springer International Publishing, New York, NY, 2019. 447 pp. Type: Book (978-3-030048-84-6)

This volume offers a detailed look at a new environment for systems modeling based on the open matrix language (OML), a relatively new language for numerical computation in the tradition of MATLAB, Octave, Scilab, and Julia. The environment includ...

Sep 24 2019  
 
 
 
Display per column
 
Send Your Comments
Contact Us
Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited.   Copyright © 2000-2021 ThinkLoud, Inc.
Terms of Use
| Privacy Policy